Wis. Stat. 170.07 and 170.08 If a person finds money or goods having a value of at least $25, and if the owner of the money or goods is unknown, the finder shall, within 5 days after finding the money or goods, give a written notice of the found money or goods to the Racine Police Department. The Racine Police Department shall post a notice of the found money or goods in 2 public places in the city if the value is less than $100. If the value is $100 or more, the finder shall within 15 days after finding the goods cause a class 2 notice under ch. 985 of the found goods to be published in the county. If no person who is entitled to the goods appears to claim the goods, the finder shall, within 2 months after finding the goods and before using the goods to their injury, procure an appraisal of the goods by the Racine Police Department. The appraisal shall be certified by the Chief of Police and filed in the office of the Chief of Police.
Wis. Stat. 170.09 If the owner appears within 90 days after notice is given to the Racine Police Department under s. 170.07 or 170.08 and proves his/her ownership, he/she shall have restitution upon the payment of all the costs and charges on the money or goods, including a reasonable compensation to the finder for the finder's trouble.
Wis. Stat.170.10 If no owner appears within 90 days after notice is given to the Racine Police Department under s. 170.07 or 170.08, the finder shall be the owner of the lost money or goods.
(If you have a bill you think the City should pay)
You have 120 days (about 4 months) from when the incident occurred to file a "Notice of Circumstances" with the Office of the City Clerk, 730 Washington Avenue, Racine, WI. 53403. The "Notice of Circumstances" must list when the incident happened, where it happened, and the people or objects involved.
You must also submit a "Notice of Claim" to the Office of the City Clerk when you know the final amount of your costs and expenses for the damages or injuries you believe were a result of the incident
You should read section 893.80 of the Wisconsin Statutes for additional information about this process, or contact your insurance agent or attorney.
The Wisconsin Statutes are available at the Racine Public Library at:
See Chapter 42, Article III of the Municipal Code
Please contact Public Works at (262) 636-9126
If you disagree with a parking ticket, you may request a court appearance at the Racine Police Department, 730 Center Street, Racine, WI 53403-1186, or by mailing a photocopy of your parking ticket and a photocopy of your driver's license to:
Racine Police Department
730 Center Street
Racine, WI 53403-1186
Note: Only the registered owner of the vehicle can contest a parking ticket, although the actual driver may accompany the owner to all Court appearances.
If you have questions regarding this citation, please call 262-635-7750.
Failure to pay within 14 days of issue date will result in additional penalties. The Wisconsin Department of Transportation will suspend your vehicle registration and refuse registration of any of your vehicles if you fail to pay or contest this ticket within 42 days from the issue date.
Late fees will not be added after a "Pre-trial Conference" has been scheduled, but failure to appear will result in the immediate assessment of all late fees. Suspension of vehicle registration(s) will remain in effect until either the full payment of the citation or you have appeared at the "Pre-trial Hearing."
You must appear in person at the "Pre-trial Hearing", and cannot do this by a letter. At the Pre-trial Hearing you will have the opportunity to discuss the circumstances of the ticket, and to determine whether you will need a Trial. Not all cases go to a Trial.
If you require an interpreter or other accommodation, you must notify the Municipal Court Clerk at least 7 days before your court date.
Failure to appear at your court hearing date or Pre-trial Hearing date may result in a default judgment against you, which may include a money forfeiture, Driver's License suspension, vehicle registration suspension, or the issuance of a Commitment for your arrest.
You may have an attorney help or represent you at any time, but you are not required to do so. The Public Defender's Office does not get involved in this type of case.
Visit the Building Inspector's page, or call their office at (262) 636-9464.